Search the offerHotelsPrivate accommodationApartmentsRooms HousesRestaurants Caffe_bar
Blue IstriaBalleBanjoleFazanaLabinLiznjanMarcanaMedulin
Green IstriaBarbanBrtoniglaBujeBuzetCerovljeGracisceGroznjan

Sveta Nedelja / Nedescina

  • Bookmark this page
  • This function allows you to record which sites you like for later comparison, sending a group of enquiries, etcetera. Recorded sites appear in the right column above, under "Bookmarks" tabs, and are not stored in your browser favorites!

Sveta Nedelja

Located above the always-green canyon of the Raša river, Nedeščina is only now revealing itself to the world as a gentle oasis with hidden treasures. Its rich and turbulent history, which remained written in the stories of local people, is carved somewhere in the stones of the churches, old castles, the mighty fortresses, and sometimes it can be heard like a whisper in lush of century-old treetops of this unspoiled territory. Since past times, Nedeščina has been the home and vacation place of rich peers who built their castles and country houses here. Today, some of them have been restored and opened to visitors, such as the baroque palaces Lazzarini-Battiala and Dubrova, while others, such as the medieval castle Šumber, are quiet and picturesque keepers of an interesting past. This castle is a representative example of medieval life. Under its walls the centuries-old custom, the celebration of Our Lady of the Snows, is still revered. The event dates back to 1430 when in this area, in the middle of the August heats, the snow suddenly fell and Our Lady showed itself on a tree tube to a local shepherdess. Beside the historical and cultural attractions, Nedešćina provides an experience in enjoying the unique beauty of unspoiled nature.

The territory is nested on the plateau between the beautiful canyon of the Raša river, the fertile Čepićko field and the blue sea, offering a breathtaking view from all sides and an exceptional climate ideal for many ancient oaks and chestnuts. Its warm and hospitable people have been opening their homes in recent years by offering an almost forgotten style of living and centuries old recipes that perfectly breathe along with this extraordinary and quiet landscape.


Sveta Nedelja-Nedešćina and its surroundings were inhabited during the Bronze Age, as evidenced by prehistoric ruins of Illyrian – Celtic tribes. With the domination of Romans in Istria in 177 BC, the Raša river became the border between Liburnia and Roman Histria. Labin, the former Albona, was the center of part of Liburnia. It was one of the most important ancient centers of the wider area, whose territory even later laid between the Raša river and Kvarner, when during the 7th century this area was inhabited by Croats. The development of the village was related to the early medieval estate belonging to the patriarchs of Aquileia. With the strengthening of feudalism in that time, the autonomy of urban communes was reduced, which, as well as the surrounding properties, came into the possession of different German noble families during the 9th and 10th century. Since 1207 and until 1420, the patriarchs of Aquileia ruled the territory again and feudal estates were developed. The period was marked by the formation of the Benedictine Abbey of the Holy Trinity. At that time, in the now missing village Kočur (ancient village built in prehistoric times) the church St.Cross was built. After the fall of Aquileia in 1420, Nedešćina fell under Venetian rule that created new parish churches, which were built in smaller villages. In the early 19th century, the area experienced a significant growth. At that time, after the fall of Venice, it fell under French government and then under Austrian administration until World War I. Year 1807 marks the beginning of mining in this region, when the first shaft (which was closed until 1955) in Štrmac was opened. The arrival of Italy represented, as in other parts of Istria, a difficult period for the local population, which lasted until World War 2 when Nedešćina became a part of the Republic of Croatia.


Parish Church of Holy Trinity - from 1897, with beautifully decorated ceiling

Sveti Martin, the church of St. Martin - from 1907, with statues of saints

Sveti Martin, the church of Our Lady of Health - from 1630

Sveti Martin, Lazzarini Palace - from the 18th century

Šumber, castle Šumber - from the 13th century

Šumber, St.Kvirin church - a Gothic church with a Glagolitic inscription

Šumber, the church of Our Lady of Drenje – from the 15th century

Šumber, the Church of St. John and Paul - from the 17th century

Dubrova, Sculpture Park - a unique park with 90 sculptures made by international sculptors, therein lies the "White road" - a stone mosaic of 800 meters of length, arranged by different authors


Labinske konti (Songs of Labin), Dubrova - review of original folk music and dance Labin, 26.07.

Wine Festival Labin, Sveti Martin - review of selected wines, 26.07.

Mediterranean sculpture symposium, Dubrova - International sculpture meeting held out in the open, 02.08.

Pentagošt, Šumber - traditional folk festival, 05.08.

Bikers Meeting, Dubrova - a traditional motorcycle drivers gathering 24.09.-26.09.

Day of Sveta Nedjelja - a traditional folk festival and fair 16.10.

Your searches

    Sponsored ads