One of the most beautiful views in Istria can be enjoyed from Vižinada
and the surrounding hillside of Sv.Tomo (St Thomas hill). The wonderful views are spread across abundantly fruitful vineyards
which grow on the red and white soil, gentle sylvan hummocks filled with various fruits, on which Motovun, Završje
and other small medieval towns proudly stand. Green meadows filled with colourful wild flowers, the bountiful valley of the
river Mirna and above all of them, the wide celestial bowl giving to the spectator a feeling of absolute freedom. The streets
of Vižinada eagerly expect every traveler, offering history and curiosities with which not many small towns can boast. Vižinada`s
main square is encompassed by fascinating artifacts such as the old cistern with two lovely wells as well as Venetian emblems
which adorn the surrounding buildings. Behind the square there is an old repository, which keeps engraved winged lion and
an interesting tablet with the engraved levies from the ancient harbor of Baštija that relate a story of passed times.
Apart from historical and cultural notabilities, lush vineyards which, due to the quality of the soil, bring forth wines
of extraordinary bouquets, remarkable cuisine enchanted with fruits of this picturesque area, the old town of Vižinada
also offers unique recreational delights on the refurbished railroad Parenzana, one-time railway connection between
Poreč and Trieste. On the 123 kilometres long track, walkers and cyclists will pass through fresh gorgeous forests, delightful
little towns, stone made villages, mystical tunnels, cross over unshakable viaducts and marvel in the diversity of the landscapes
and colours in which this area really flourishes.
to the inscriptions, Vižinada is about one thousand years old.
The real upraise comes after Vižinada was populated by
the inhabitants of the ancient Ružar. This, now extinct, place was located beneath today’s Vižinada, by the Krvar brook,
a tributary of the river Mirna. Ružar was inhabited in prehistoric times. Life in Ružar continued flourishing even during
the times of the ancient Rome, mainly due to an important Roman road called Via Flavia passing through the center. It has
been assumed that the area was populated until the beginning of the 15th century when its inhabitants moved to a location
that is today Vižinada.
The history of Vižinada is very interesting. On Božje polje (The God`s field), in the 11th century,
St.Mary`s church was built. In the year 1119, the templar’s monastery was founded here and Božje polje became the center
of templars in Istria. On Friday 13th in October of 1307, French king Philippe the Fair, organised a mass hunting and
execution of the Templar Knights and by 1312 the order of the Templar Knights vanished. Their place from that time on
was taken by the Maltese Knights, and after them, in the year 1526, the monastery was occupied by the Franciscan monks
of Third Order.
Above the church door still stands the head of Attila the Hun who, according to some legends, ended his
life in this area. Behind the famous cistern, with the two wells from the 1772, there is an old building with an engraved
Venetian lion dating back from the 15th century and a stone table with the engraved tariffs from Baštija harbour from
the year 1726. Baštija harbour was located on the river Mirna and contains a table with engraved levies which were
meant to be paid for loading and unloading of wood, grain and wine.
The famous ballerina Carlotta Grisi, born in 1819,
was originally from Vižinada. The famous railway Parenzana, operating from 1902-1935, provided so much prosperity for this
Today Vižinada is developing through natural beauty and all its gifts, abundant historical and cultural legacy,
combing interesting past with the demands of modern times.
St. Barnabas church – from the 13th century with the cycles of frescoes along with
some 15th century graffiti
St.John the Baptist church – with the lookout, built in
St.Jerome`s church – from the 16th century, with two marble statues belonging
to St.Jerome and St.Barnaba at the altar; a 25 meters high tower with octagonal cylinder built in the 17th century
St.Rocco`s church – built in 1583.
St.Mary`s church, in Božje polje
– built in the 12th century, with the illustrated arc, on the frontage still stands an unusual stone head of Attila
Public cistern on the square – built in the 1772. a baroque cistern with two
wells, with an embedded Venetian lion from the 15th century and a stone table with engraved levies from 1726.
– excellently reformed old railway track which passes through beautiful landscapes, over viaducts and through tunnels
The sardine feast – held at
the end of July in Vabriga
St. Mary`s – public feast, held on the 14th of August on
the square of Vižinada, with abundant offer of different local manufacturers, we also recommend a visit to the exhibit of
the Wines of Vižinada
Cycling marathon Parenzana – recreational type, held at the end
of September and passing through local towns and over old viaducts following the old railway track Parenzana
Istra / Sweet Istria – a festival of local pastry and desserts, held on the 15th of August
na Šterni / Verses on the Well – traditional gathering of poets from all of Istria, speaking the “čakavski”
dialect, held at the beginning of June